Never in my life

…have I ever been so mad and so ashamed of my actions.

Let me start at the beginning. We taxi every where and some weeks we get along with the taxi driver community as a whole and the next week they are cheating on us and stealing from us, so we have to break up with them. What to do, what to do.They see that we are American and automatically charge us way over the price. Our 3 weeks of Tagalog tutoring has taught us enough to tell them no and we only pay what the meter says.

Anyway, I am getting way off track. Today my  taxi driver pretended not to hear me correctly (this is a regular occurrence, especially around Christmas when they try to swindle you for more money) and I had a really important doctors appointment to get to. I told him several times on the way over to my appt. where we were going and he still drove me to the wrong place. A few other events acclimated and I finally yelled at him to just pull over. I wadded up my money, threw it at him, said a few words and threw up a hand gesture I am not so proud of then slammed the door like a 15 year old girl with raging hormones. The worst part is that it was an old man taxi driver. I continued to fume and curse a few not so naughty words as  I ran 3 blocks and got to my doctors appointment just 5 minutes late. Some days are good here and some days are not so good.

What would you have done?

This was my first taxi ride all by myself. I was so scared the first time.

I don't remember his name but he was a nice first taxi driver.

A typical looking taxi. They can be a little nicer and much worst.

We took our first jeepney ride on friday to Little Tokyo in Makati. It was an experience but I definitely prefer taxis.

This is a prime example of what Jeepneys look like.

Taken from my cell phone at night. Jeepney ride #1 and # last.

Little Tokyo - again taken from my phone at night. Apologies.

14 responses to “Never in my life

  1. Totally justified. You aren’t a rage-y person by nature, and the fact that he was an old man trying to rip you off does not give him a pass.

  2. OOH Girl! You made ME mad just reading this! Now he knows not to mess with hot white chics! Seriously! Do not be ashamed..it was well deserved. I miss you!

    Merry Christmas, Kwanza, Chanaukkah

  3. Maybe next time, he won ‘t try to swindle cute Americans. Don’t feel too bad…he was the one being out of control, and he should know that you are not stupid enough to believe he “didn’t hear you”.

  4. I would’ve done the same thing…only thrown up a few more hand signs 🙂

    So wait…hormonal…doc’s appointment? hmmm…

    p.s. I am very envious of your traveling life…VERY.

  5. Totally justified. You aren’t a rage-y person by nature, and the fact that he was an old man trying to rip you off does not give him a pass.

  6. OOH Girl! You made ME mad just reading this! Now he knows not to mess with hot white chics! Seriously! Do not be ashamed..it was well deserved. I miss you!Merry Christmas, Kwanza, Chanaukkah

  7. Maybe next time, he won ‘t try to swindle cute Americans. Don’t feel too bad…he was the one being out of control, and he should know that you are not stupid enough to believe he "didn’t hear you".

  8. I would’ve done the same thing…only thrown up a few more hand signs 🙂 So wait…hormonal…doc’s appointment? hmmm…p.s. I am very envious of your traveling life…VERY.

  9. unfortunately… the same. we were on a bus in china, i had my feet up (rude in asia to show bottoms of your feet), the woman in front of me kept giving me dirty looks so finally i lunged forward throwing my hands in the air and saying “what?!”. micah said she looked away because she thought i was going to throw down. i might have.

  10. living abroad gets to a person. ESPECIALLY when there is a language barrier.

    only people that have done it, really get it. and trust me, i get you sista.

  11. unfortunately… the same. we were on a bus in china, i had my feet up (rude in asia to show bottoms of your feet), the woman in front of me kept giving me dirty looks so finally i lunged forward throwing my hands in the air and saying "what?!". micah said she looked away because she thought i was going to throw down. i might have.

  12. living abroad gets to a person. ESPECIALLY when there is a language barrier. only people that have done it, really get it. and trust me, i get you sista.

  13. Just because he is older doesn’t mean that he wasn’t swindling you…it just means that he has had a lot more practice because he has been around longer…but I get it everyone feels bad when it’s an old person, it just means that you are the better person.

  14. Just because he is older doesn’t mean that he wasn’t swindling you…it just means that he has had a lot more practice because he has been around longer…but I get it everyone feels bad when it’s an old person, it just means that you are the better person.

Leave a Reply

