Mellow Yellow

I am here (AJ) and I am ready to start blogging again. I have so much to blog about that it is overwhelming and I almost don’t want to but I will. Here is a post to my facebook album that has like a gazillion photos {here}. I think most of you who read this blog get my weekly emails so I am not going to go into great detail on here. What, you don’t get my emails and you want to? Leave a comment with your email addy on here.

The Philippines kicks serious butt. I love it here. I can not think of a better place to live internationally. It has been a smooth transition because it is very westernized. Which sounds a little pathetic that I am living in this awesome place and am happy that it is similar to the country we are from. While living abroad is full of mystery and intrigue it is really nice to have familiarity as a friend stopping by to say hello from time to time.

I can’t say it enough how blessed I am to be married to such an amazing man who gave me this ridiculously cool life. Jake is the best. I love him so much my little heart might explode like a volcano.

Well as you can see from some of the photos below we are not suffering by any means. Our apartment is small but swanky. The building we live in is newer than 1 year old and has elevator men. They make sure they push button 16 so I don’t have to. My favorite elevator man is Henry. He is great. He tries to help Jake and I learn some common Tagalog phrases but it is not going super great. They have an array of different treats here and Jake and I love to buy them. We don’t want to eat them all on our own so we take them with us on elevator rides to give to Henry. I think he likes them but I am not sure.

Highlights of the Philippines:

-Cheap produce – extra crunchy cucumbers, extra meaty mangos, juicy cheap pineapple, crispy pears, yellow watermelon

-Cheap shopping – SO much shopping it could drive any shopaholic insane.

-Cheap movies – so far we have seen 5 movies

-Happy people- very very happy people who want to serve

-McDonald’s delivery – ha

-Cheap easy to use taxis

-Warm weather

-Nice beaches up north and south

-Stronger members of the church

-Humble culture

Lowlights-

-Lots of seafood

-Interesting sweet tangy smells

-Poverty

Well that is all for today.

Here is a photo of the yellow watermelon I ate today.yellow mellow

14 responses to “Mellow Yellow

  1. I just looked at your facebook pictures. I love them. It all looks so fun. I love that your apartment has a pool, the fish pedicures, the southern food in the phillipines, everything, etc.etc. I love your ‘ridiculously cool life’.

  2. Uh, hello? I don’t get your emails, sista. Let me know what you are doing!!!

  3. Seriously I want you emails too!

  4. That yellow watermelon looks delish! Sorry I missed your call the other morning, I would have loved to talk to you. I had just gone back to lay down and try to sleep. It was a very frustrating morning sin dormir. 🙂

  5. So glad you posted. That link forced me to log into Facebook and view your photos. And I’m so glad I did. I love them. And miss you.

  6. Beautiful melon! Can’t wait to hear more.

    p.s. Sign me up for that email of yours 🙂

  7. I want to try that yellow watermelon! What an amazing adventure!

  8. Oh and I want to read your weekly emails:
    jackson.emerson@gmail.com

  9. Kristina Summers

    I want weekly emails! summers.kristina@gmail.com
    How was the yellow watermelon? Sweet or tangy? It sounds amazing! I can’t wait to hear more. I’m glad that you are loving it!

  10. Hello? Who would love your e-mails more than I?? shelly.norton@gmail.com

  11. really making me want to come out there! and i like everyone else would like the emails! taratomita@gmail.com

  12. WHAT?! You can get McDonald’s delivered?! LUCKY!! I’ve always wanted that…I should move there! I already have David who speaks Tagalog!

    What does Jake do again that you guys moved down there?! and I’d like email…just to see what you guys are up to! imallheart at gmail dot com

    Have a super great day!

  13. Glad you guys are loving it! I knew you shouldn’t take anything with you clothing wise… all the more reason for shopping 🙂

  14. sweet! you guys are going to have the time of your life, i am so stoked for you! hook me up with those emails- moffat949@gmail.com
    i can’t wait to hear more.

    oh, surfed with your bro monce about a month ago, ha!

Leave a Reply

